Submissions are open until midnight 31st October 2020

We’re international and ANYONE can enter a poem written in the English language (no prior credits necessary). This year will be judged by UK Poet Laureate Simon Armitage and Jade Cuttle. First prize: £5,000, second prize: £2,000, third prize: £1,000.

Enter the Ginkgo Prize

Submissions are £7 for the first entry. If you’d like to submit multiple poems it will cost £4 for each additional poem. The Ginkgo prize is an ECOPOETRY prize, we’re looking for poems that engage with the climate crisis, words that will ignite our global conscience. Poems can be any length and follow any form – have a look at previous winners to see what found favour with last year’s judges.

Over the next three months we’ll be running a series of ecopoetry workshops on our @ginkgo.prize Instagram live. These workshops will help applicants enter – we’ll be exploring how to write ecopoetry, learning to engage with pertinent themes and imbue your words with a political message.

Workshops will be added and listed here.

Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty Prize

This year we’ve partnered with AONB and launched an additional prize. This will be for ‘Best Landscape Poem’, the winner will be awarded £500. This prize is free to enter (if you’ve already submitted to Ginkgo prize).